OOTD: Playing with Animal Prints

Just for you guys, here is my post for Boutique Larrieux this month, plus Bonus Pictures!

OOTD: Playing with Animal Prints

By: Micaela Shambee

So, I’ve always hated animal prints. My Mom always tells me hate is a strong word, but seriously, I just could not get with it. Case in point: My mother loves it. She wears it from head to toe. If it’s animal print, (especially cheetah print) she’ll buy it, whether its flattering or not. She buys big hats, jeans, and over-sized t-shirts; no matter what, if its in her closet and it has that big cat splattered over it, it’s most likely an animal print!

To make matters worse, I feel like every plus size clothing company uses animal prints specifically for bigger women. It’s like all the designers huddle together and decide, “Okay she’s big, let’s wrap her in a toga full of cheetah print!” Or, “okay, she’s big and she wants to be stylish, let’s give her a cheetah print clutch to go with that toga!” I started to feel like animal prints were the scapegoat for designers when they designed for big women! Thus, at a young age, I developed animal print-phobia! A phobia that carried all the way into my adult life.

Well, until now.

I don’t know if its because I recently turned 25, or what, but I was shopping and I came across this amazing off the shoulder shirt with silver cheetah print etched across it. I thought, “Hmmm. This might look good with my leggings.” So, I bought it and surely enough, it looked great. Then another day, I found the most amazing cheetah print pumps. And after playing around with the combination of the shoes and the shirt, I knew my animal print phobia was cured! Well, not completely cured because I still won’t wear it from head to toe like my Mom, but I’ve learned that small strategic splashes of the print is totally okay!  I just hope that now designers will take the “less is more” approach when applying the print to clothing in the future.

Now pass me that cheetah clutch, but I’ll pass on the toga!

Here’s my playful experiment with animal prints:

Blazer, Shirt, Necklace and HeelsTorrid
LeggingsAsos Curve

5 thoughts on “OOTD: Playing with Animal Prints

  1. You perfectly articulated all of my past feelings about animal prints. I had some Nine West cheetah print pony hair ballet flats that got me over my past prejudices. Sadly, they have gone on to glory.

Leave a Reply

